Thanksgiving dinner 2013

The 2013 Thanksgiving was a total success! Dan and I brined and cooked our first turkey, which turned out fantastic! It was two days of cooking that paid off in deliciousness!!

photo 1  photo 3

We used The Pioneer Woman brine….we’ve never brined a turkey, but always wanted to. It was so easy and made the turkey so moist! If the word brine scares you…think marinade.  It wasn’t salty at all. http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/10/my-favorite-turkey-brine/

photo 4

Here’s our little man right before going in the oven. We stuffed it with sage, rosemary, an apple and an onion which made delicious gravy!

photo 2

AND HERE HE IS! Out of the oven…..cooked to perfection using The Pioneer Woman directions!! It was delicious.  Our full spread included:

  • Turkey    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/10/roasted_thanksgiving_turkey/
  • Ham
  • Sweet potato casserole (Pioneer Woman)
  • Roasted brussel sprouts
  • Mashed potatoes (done in the crockpot, so easy!)
  • Gravy (from the turkey drippings)
  • Cornbread stuffing
  • Pretzel salad
  • Rolls

photo 3

I made two pumpkin pies by roasting a pumpkin and making my own puree. That was so delicious.  Here are the recipes. http://cloverandthyme.com/2012/11/16/pumpkin-pie/

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pumpkin-Puree/

I went very simple with the table decorations this year.  I thought it turned out pretty…

photo 2All in all, a very successful day.  We ate about lunchtime which gave us the evening to hang out, watch Dr. Who, and eat leftovers.  So much to be thankful for this year.  My heart overflows with how blessed I am.  I have a husband who I absolutely adore, a beautiful little girl and another healthy baby girl on the way.  Both my husband and I have great jobs that we enjoy and family that we love.  Every day I ask myself what have I done to get all this.

Thankful to the One who makes all things good. Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Leave a Reply

