$5.00 Dinner

I was cooking dinner tonight and thought I might share the benefits of meal planning….

For tonight, I had planned Shake-N-Bake pork chops, sweet potatoes, and broccoli.  Initially I just planned the meat and went to the grocery store to find my two veggie sides.

1. Pork chops

– I got these on a buy one-get one for $8.00 for both…so $4.00

– The Shake-n-Bake is about $2.00 a box for two meals….so $1.00

2.  Sweet potatoes

– Those were about $0.75 each, so $1.50.  When I started preparing dinner, I realized I had all the ingredients for sweet potato casserole. So I splurged and made that instead of just sweet potatoes.  All the ingredients were probably $1.50 if  I broke it up.   This is the best sweet potato casserole recipe ever, so easy too!! http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/10/soul-sweet-taters-step-by-step-recipe/

3. Broccoli

– I got this for $2.00  a bundle at Publix on Sunday.  Steamed with lemon butter on top.

SOOOO….the grand total for this planned, home cooked meal was…

$4.00 + $1.00+ $1.50+ $2.00= $8.50 plus $1.50 for the stuff for the sweet potato casserole…..$10!!!

This meal is enough for 4 large servings, so it was enough for Dan and I to have dinner tonight and lunch tomorrow.  NOT TOO SHABBY!!

And….very healthy!!

photo

Leave a Reply

