Tips for the Working Mom: Part II

Continuing on….. a few more tips to help make lives easier for those working outside the home moms….

6. Prep for dinner

Because I meal plan, I know each day what we are having for dinner that night. I always to the prep work for dinner either the night before or when I come home for lunch.  When I get home from working with the kids in the after school program, I don’t want to have to do a lot of work to get dinner ready. I purposely plan meals that are quick to throw together or are in the crockpot.  The most you can do to prep ahead of time will really help!  So if you are having a veggie, go ahead and get it all cut up and ready.  If you are having some kind of meat, get it thawed and in the marinade or whatever you are doing to cook it.   Any ingredients you might need, go ahead and set them on the counter with the recipe. That way when you walk in the door, you have what you need right there waiting on you.

7.  Pack up the night before

Each evening, it is part of my routine to go ahead and pack up Sarah’s diaper bag, my purse, and my work bag and put it by the back door.   I don’t want to have to track down the things I need as I’m trying to get out the door.  I go ahead and pack up Sarah’s food for the day and put it in the frig, so in the morning I just have to grab it and throw it in her prepared diaper bag.  This way it is all ready to put in the car!

8. Date Night

I don’t know about you, but it can seem for me that life is just one big checklist. ( I actually do have my weekly chores checklist).  I am always thinking about the next thing that has to be done.  Having those things you can look forward to are so important!  For me, I always get a babysitter on Friday nights.  This gives me the night off and gives me something to look forward to.  I love our Friday nights!  We’re lucky that both my parents and my husband’s parents are within 30 minutes, so most Friday nights Sarah actually spends the night away.  We can take our time, go to dinner, go to a movie, whatever.   If you can’t  go out, make sure you take one night a week with your spouse to just veg.  Watch a movie, order in dinner….. that time together and for me, the time off, is vital to my  sanity!

9. Gifts

March was a particularly crazy month when it came to gift buying.   This month, I purchased gifts for the following people: my mom, my dad, my niece, my mother-in-law, a wedding gift, and four baby gifts.   If I had gone out and bought these one at a time, that would have taken forever.  I made a list of all the gifts needed for this month and went out at one time and purchased them all. I also picked up all the gift wrap stuff, came home and wrapped them.  They sat on my closet shelf until the time came for the party they were for.  This saved me so much time. I loved having them all waiting on me, rather than me rushing out the night before each event to find a gift.  Thankfully April isn’t nearly as bad, but I’ll continue to follow this trend!

10.  Give yourself  a bedtime

With all the stuff I do before I go to bed, I am strict with giving myself a bed time (9:30)  I get up and run in the mornings (this will be on the Part III post) and I have to get enough rest.  Go ahead and decide what time you need to go to bed and stick to it.  It’s so important to get enough rest!  If you end up in bed a few minutes later than planned, no biggie, but hold yourself to paying attention to your needs and get in bed!

Stay posted for the final tips..Part III! 🙂

Leave a Reply

